FAU Arena "The Burrow" opened its doors to volleyball in 1988. The facility seats 5,000 and was recently modernized in 2007 with a $10 million renovation which included a new roof, renovated locker rooms, an upgraded exterior and renovated lobby as well as chair back seating and the installation of a video scoreboard. read more

Fernanda Nelson

Head Coach

Fernanda Nelson was named Florida Atlantic Universitys head volleyball coach on June 4, 2012.Nelson became the fifth head coach in FAU volleyball history after serving as an assistant at Florida Gulf Coast University four seasons. While at FGCU, Nelson helped the Eagles to a 63-43 overall record (46-17 Atlantic Sun Conference record) and the 2008 regular season A-Sun title. She also assisted head coach Dave Nichols in guiding FGCU to a winning record in its first season of sand volleyball in 2012.

One of the best setters in the storied history of the Brazilian National Team and named Brazils best setter in 1997, Nelson helped FGCU setter Roberta Santos and outside hitter Ana Kokanvic, two of the best players in FGCU history, earn first team All-Atlantic Sun honors in their senior campaign. Additionally, libero Holly Youngquist was a two-time second-team All-Atlantic Sun selection under Nelsons charge. In four seasons, Nelson has helped coach seven All-Atlantic Sun selections (three first team), four conference Freshmen Team honorees, a unanimous A-Sun Freshman of the Year, an ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 selection (Holly Youngquist; second team) and 27 A-Sun All-Academic selections.

In her first season at FAU, Nelson recorded her first career victory in a five-set win over Stetson. The Owls more than doubled their win total from the previous year, while in the process snapping a conference losing streak that had lasted almost two years. She also led the team to a victory over a Big East opponent (Villanova) at the Arizona State University Sheraton Invitational.


Chuck Amshoff

Assistant Coach

Chuck Amshoff joined the FAU coaching staff in the summer of 2014. Prior to joining the Owls, Amshoff spent a year at Rollins College. While at Rollins, he helped guide the Tars to a 2nd round NCAA Tournament appearance and had a player earned AVCA All-American honors. Before joining Rollins, Amshoff was the head coach at Union College (Ky.) where he led the Bulldogs to a 37-34 record in two seasons. In his first year at Union, Amshoff and his team captured the Appalachian Athletic Conference regular-season championship after posting a record of 20-17.

In his first season as an assistant for the Owls, Amshoff helped FAU to the Conference USA Tournament for the second year in a row while also assisting in the development of two All-Conference USA performers, the first Owls to earn all-conference recognition in nine seasons.

Amshoffs second season brought continued success for the Owls, as they won 18 matches for the second year in a row, had three players earn all-conference honors and advanced to the conference tournament for the third consecutive year.


Alyssa Warren

Assistant Coach

Alyssa Warren joined the FAU volleyball coaching staff in the fall of 2016 after having played on the beach volleyball squad during the 2015 season and serving as a volunteer assistant for the 2016 beach season.

“Her passion for the game and hunger for knowledge is going to take her far. She comes to us with a very strong background and Im looking forward to her continued growth.” After starting the 2015 year as part of the No. 5 tandem, Warren eventually worked her way up to the No. 2 duo and finished the year with eight dual match wins, helping the team to a 9-6 dual match record, tripling the win total from the previous year, including wins over ninth-ranked Stetson and 14th-ranked Stanford.

Warrens experience as a volleyball player includes a brilliant career at Seton Hall University. A four year starter at libero and two-time captain, she was the first player in SHU history and just the fourth ever to be named the Big East Defensive Player of the Year twice. Warren was also a two-time All Big East Conference selection.