Soccer program gets commitments from 7 for 2017

Bemidji State University head soccer coach Jim Stone announced the commitments of seven recruits for the 2017 season Wednesday. Ryin Carreras (Riverside, Calif.), Maggie Hallock (Cottage Grove, Minn.), Izabel Matchan (Excelsior, Minn.), Alanna Mattson (Princeton, Minn.), Emma Mortensen (Apple Valley, Minn.), Isabelle Olson (Hopkins, Minn.) and Emma Riedi (Green Bay, Wis.) each signed National Letters of Intent to play soccer for the Beavers beginning next season. Read More

Bemidji State's 2017 soccer schedule announced

The Bemidji State University soccer team and head coach Jim Stone have announced the Beavers'2017 schedule, which features nine home games and 15 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference matchups. Read More

Jim Stone

Head Coach


Entering his 16th season as head coach, Jim Stone is the winningest coach in Bemidji State University soccer history. Prior to his arrival in 2002, BSU had an overall record of 13-80-3.  In 15 seasons since, his BSU teams have accounted for over 92 percent (152) of the program’s total victories (165), which includes matching a program record with 14 wins (14-5-1) in 2016,  and have missed the NSIC Tournament just one time in the last 12 seasons.


Stone inherited a 4-12-1 squad in 2002 and quickly put the building blocks in place for success. Stone’s 2004 team assembled the program’s first double digit win total, with and overall record of 11-12-0, and made a run to the NSIC Tournament semifinals in the Beavers’ first appearance in the postseason event. BSU’s 12-4-7 record in 2005 left the team above the .500 mark for the first time and since, has assembled a string of 12 consecutive seasons at .500 or above and an overall record of 132-79-24 (.613).

A two-time NSIC Coach of the Year (2016 and 2005), Stone has the highest win percentage of any head coach in BSU history, along with the most wins (152). He is also the only coach in BSU soccer history with a winning record in conference play.



Ryszard Gorski

Assistant Coach


Ryzard Gorski is in his first season as assistant coach on the Bemidji State Soccer coaching staff. His responsibilities will include: planning and implementing practice sessions, goalkeeper training, scouting reports and assisting with travel arrangements, among others.


Gorski comes to Bemidji State from the Valparaiso Soccer Club in Phoenix, Ariz., where he has served as the Director of Goalkeeping. He got his first taste of head coaching responsibilities at South Mountain Community College, where he oversaw all aspects of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) program for the 2015 and 2016 seasons.


Gorski spent 2014 at NCAA Division I Hofstra University, as assistant coach/goalkeeper coach of the men’s soccer program. He lead goalkeeper training and development, oversaw academic and social enrichment of all their student-athletes, and was the director of the Hofstra College ID Summer Camp. 
The team went 10-6-3 and qualified for the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) Championships, while Gorski’s goalkeepers combined for a 1.01 goals against average and seven shutouts.


Facebook Twitter